Closets as Rooms

As part of Project Big Girl Room, I was thinking about turning one of my daughter’s two CAVERNOUS closets into a little room.  The room would function as a reading nook/play space.  I am envisioning comfortable chairs, floor mats, and/or bean bag chairs, a little bookshelf and a small table, with lots of wall art and maybe some horizontal stripes on the walls and doors? 

So, as far as inspiration goes, I am inspired by closets turned into home offices and reading nooks.  Home offices are a stretch for my not-yet 3 year-old, but that seems to be what a lot of people turn closets into!   The creativity below will knock your Ferragamos off….

Closets as Home Offices:  

{I die for that acrylic “ghost” desk chair….}

{I love the use of wallpaper on the back wall of the closet above and below.}

{I like the use of the curtains instead of the closet door in the picture above and below, but I think I am going to keep the closet doors for symmetry with the other closet in the room.}

{I like the little peg boards above.}

Closets as Reading Nooks/Daybeds:

{The horizontal stripes here look fabulous and I like that they used a twin bed that doubles as a reading nook and an extra bed for guests.  I don’t think our closet is big enough for that, but it’s perfect for this space.}

{Another closet turned reading nook that doubles as an extra bed.}

{Love this floor seating, simple book case and clip-on light.}

{This nook would have been my dream as a kid.  I love everything about it — the hanging bookshelf, the wall art and the little table with that sweet yellow lamp!}

What do you think?  Can I pull it off?

{Images via: 1. Rita Konig via New York Times Blog, 2. Country Living, 3. Thankfully Thrifty, 4. Decor Kel, 5. Design*Sponge, 6. Casa Sugar, 7. Making This Home, 8.  Flickr via Design*Sponge, 9. HGTV Blog, 10. Coastal Living via Room Remix, 11-12. Design Dazzle}

13 responses to “Closets as Rooms

  1. OMG that is an awesome idea. will you come do mine? too bad i don’t have Clare size closets. 😦

  2. Cakki Namorato

    Love that idea. I looked into putting a special reading area in david’s room but there wasn’t a place. Now I am inspired to do it at the lake. There is plenty of room down there. Thanks!!!!!

  3. I think this is a fabulous idea … I only wish I had a closet to read in as well (ah, old houses = no closets).

    I think you could still do long curtains (even with the doors on), as long as you mounted them inside the door frame. I think it would add to the coziness of it all!

  4. Oh! And I love the idea of a really special paint color or wallpaper inside the closet/library, to really set it off.

  5. I’m a big girl and I want one!!!

  6. I adore when people turn closets into rooms! Oh, your daughter will just love it. I wish my girls had cavernous closets! The last pic is my fave-so cute and cozy!

  7. Oh em gee! This is genius! I hadn’t thought of that and to think, I really, truly need somewhere to relax…. and pay bills. Boo to bills!

  8. Pingback: Project Big Girl Room: Update and Sneak Peeks « spark!

  9. I started doing that for the alcove in Henry’s room until I realized his toddler bed fit perfectly in it, and we haven’t moved it out. . but as soon as we have no more need for the toddler bed- I want to put the bookshelf back with some pillows and a little rug and pictures! Unless he’s so old by then, I decide to do a built-in desk or something!

  10. Pingback: The Closet-Turned-Secret-Room | spark!

  11. Pingback: The Reveal: Project Big Girl Room | spark!

  12. I love everything! you have given me some great ideas thank you so much

  13. Pingback: Chapter 3: Closet Plans | Oh, the Fun

Leave a comment