Purple Kitchen?

I have a good friend who is remodeling her kitchen and looking for ways to incorporate some color.  The current kitchen trends include a lot of muted colors and neutrals.  As I was running through my favorite warm kitchen colors with her (yes, including orange!, the current color of my kitchen), she mentioned indigo.  At the mere mention of indigo, my mind raced to PURPLE.

Could it work?

Her kitchen will include white cabinets, black soapstone countertops, a white subway tile backsplash and brushed nickel hardware.  So, the wallspace for paint is minimal, which is perfect for a bold color like purple.  She also would like to incorporate the color in the fabric for the window treatments, the bar stools and the bench seating.

Here is some visual imagery of purple in kitchens – what do you think?

purplekitchen3

ls5trend0105

purplekitchen5

purplekitchen7

purplekitchen

purplekitchen2

purplekitchen10

If you aren’t ready for the commitment of purple wall paint, cabinetry or tile, I really like the use of the deep purple shades in the second picture.  You could complement the shades with similar fabric like a purple damask or even a fun toile for the bar stools and bench seating.  And check out this awesome rug for underneath the kitchen table from The Rug Company:

purplekitchen

If you know me, I think you know my vote – go for it, K!

[Images Courtesy of: 1. Apartment Therapy, 2. Apartment Therapy, 3. UK TV, 4. Mirror Mirror, 5. Apartment Therapy, 6. Tchochkes, 7. Room Envy]

4 responses to “Purple Kitchen?

  1. I think it sounds brilliant. And if she were to make the curtains some sort of pattern mixing white with the purple on the walls then it would be even better (would purple gingham be too much?)

    @shiraabel from Tchochkes

  2. Oooh LOVE the purple cabinets in the first pic and purple shades in the second! I long for my own house 🙂 When that day comes, will you give me your expert advice?!

  3. WOW! Love it!!!

    Now the task is to get hubby to sign off on it. . .I LOVE THAT RUG.

    Thanks for all the inspiration .. . and conversation Sunday about our favorite past time: changing our homes!!!!

  4. Patricia Kiessling

    You know me – I ADORE purple!

Leave a comment