One Room Challenge, Week Two

ORClinkingparticipantCIH

ONE ROOM CHALLENGE, WEEK TWO – MY PLAN AND BUDGET

Here is the plan, y’all:

Image

{Clockwise: Benjamin Moore FanfareWoven Shades and PanelsLayered RugsPB Teen Glam Vanity StoolTarget Hamilton Desk}

Per the advice of the amazing Sunny Goode (see post here), I am using Benjamin Moore Fanfare in the bedroom on the walls AND ceiling.  I am going to use that simple Target desk above as my vanity (I like that I can repurpose it later as a true desk or console and it’s not a “vanity only” purchase).  I would love a fun vanity stool.  I may try to save myself some pennies and find one at a thrift store to repurpose.  I am going to bring some texture to the room with the seagrass rug and the sheepskin hides on either side of the bed and the woven shades on the windows.  I love the simplicity of the white panels.  I have considered trying an ink block stamping in silver or gold to fancy them up, kind of like this:

ORCdye

I am going to try my best to use what I have to complete this makeover.  We bought the paint a while back, and I have white bedding.  I am going to repurpose some lamps, mirrors and frames and attempt some DIY art.  Here is my wish list and budget for new purchases:

  1. Target Hamilton Desk.  $129.99
  2. 9×12 Seagrass Rug. ~$300
  3. One more 2×3 sheepskin rug. ~$30, but going to stalk HomeGoods for a $19.99 one like the one we already have.
  4.  Vanity Stool.  $179 (but hoping to DIY or repurpose)
  5. 2 Bamboo Roll Up Shades.  $55 x 2 = $110
  6. 2 White Panel Curtains.  $50 x 2 = $100

TOTAL BUDGET: ~$850 

Below is the latest progress — it’s not much, but can you see it?  Matt fixed a big crack down the middle of the ceiling in preparation for paint.  This is happening, people!

ORCceling

What do you think of the plan?  Can I do it for $850?

Check out the progress on the other One Room Challenges here!

{Check out my other One Room Challenge posts: Week One and Inspiration Photos.}

6 responses to “One Room Challenge, Week Two

  1. Fanfare is an amazing color! Looking forward to seeing your progression!

  2. Love the idea of the stencil on the panels. Stool is really cute too! You have such a great space!

  3. You can do it! I love the Target desk, and “Fanfare” is a gorgeous color – I wasn’t familiar with it. Love your plans!

  4. So excited you’re participating in this challenge!! I know you’ll do a great job! Can’t wait to watch the progress!

  5. Pingback: One Room Challenge, Week Three — Work in Progress | spark!

  6. Pingback: Affordable and Easy DIY Art | spark!

Leave a Reply

