the best of birchbox

Do you Birchbox?

In case you have been living under a rock these days, it is a monthly subscription service that delivers 5-6 high-end, well-vetted beauty samples to your mailbox for a cost of $10/box.  When the box comes in the mail, my 5 year old and I jump up and down and run inside to open it up and see what surprises are inside!

I signed up for Birchbox in May 2012, and have received 13 boxes to date.  I have ordered about 1 full-sized product for every box sent to me, which at about 20%, is a pretty good success rate!  There are a number of ways to accrue points on the site for discounted products, such as writing reviews and ordering full-sized products.  Also, all orders over $50 ship for free.

Admittedly, before signing up for Birchbox, I never routinely spent more than drug-store prices on most of my make-up and beauty routine.  And, I had a routine that I was happy with — I wasn’t thinking that this service would shake-up my products, but I was so wrong.  I like that I can tryout a product with very little commitment, and if I like it, I do not mind paying more for a product that I know that I will use a lot.  I estimate that 60% of my beauty routine has morphed into Birchbox products!

Here are my favorites, so far:

bb2

 Nick Chavez Color-Saver Sulfate-Free Shampoo, $22.  This leaves my hair so frizz-free and smooth, even during the summer in the South!

bb1

 Beauty Protector, Protect & Detangle, $21.95.  This product replaces conditioner in the summer for me!  I spray this on my damp hair before I blow dry it and it leaves my hair really shiny and smooth.  It smells like vanilla and cotton candy!  I have given my 5 year old my trial-size bottle and we use it as detangler on her hair – she loves it too!

bb3

 theBalm Hot Mama Shadow & Blush All-in-One, $20.  I use this as blush and it is the perfect amount of color, bronzer and illuminator.

bb4

 Vasanti Brighten Up! Face Rejuvenator, $34.  I use this face wash twice a day (even though it says to only use it 5 times a week) and I love how clean, soft and smooth it leaves my face.

bb5

 Coola Classic SPF 30 Cucumber Moisturizer for Face, $32.  This is the lightest, most effective and yummiest smelling face sunscreen I have ever found.  I mix it with the next product every morning in the summer.

bb6

 Jouer Matte Moisture Tint, $38.  In the winter, I mix this with my moisturizer for a great overall tint with no shine or oiliness.  In the summer, I mix it with my sunscreen during the day or wear it alone in the evening.  It is such a light-feeling but full-coverage, tinted moisturizer.

Do you subscribe to Birchbox?  If not, here is an invitation.  If so, what are your favorite products??

2 responses to “the best of birchbox

  1. I’ve been getting birchbox for about 6 months. My favorite sample ever was the Clark’s Botanicals Marine Cream, but the full size is $105!

  2. I wish I hadn’t gotten the matte of the Coola when I bought the full size. Though, I will say, it provides excellent protection–no raccoon eyes for me (which is great, considering I sat worshipping the sun for no less than 18 hours last week). I also love the scrub. And the Hot Mama. CB bought the full size detangler/conditioner, too. So, we are on the same page. 🙂 And, of course, I would not have ever gotten all of these things without YOU. So, merci.

Leave a Reply

