happy independence day

ind13

ind10

ind1

ind11

ind15

ind4

Happy Independence Day!  I have always loved July 4th, but this holiday has taken on a new meaning for me since my husband was deployed to Iraq 8 years ago.  It was a challenging year for me (and him, of course) that taught me that our freedom comes through the labor, dedication and sacrifice of countless men and women who are nameless and faceless to most of us.  The silent moments of fear, loneliness and anxiety endured by service men, women and their families are invisible to most of our country, including me before Matt deployed to a war zone.

Since 2005, I cannot sing the Star Spangled Banner without tears in my eyes and a lump in my throat, nor can I pass a service-person without imagining the network of parents, wives, husbands, children, neighbors and loved ones that are thinking and worrying about him or her.  Thank you to all of the brave men and women who are fighting and have fought for our independence and their loving and supportive spouses, families and communities.

GOD BLESS AMERICA!

P.S. For past 4th of July posts, click here (2009), and here (2010).

{Image sources can be found here}

Leave a Reply

