On Blogging and the Big Switch

So, I started this blog in May 2009.  My oldest daughter, and only child at the time, was 22 months old and still napping twice a day.  I was practicing law by morning and blogging by afternoon.  In 2009 and 2010, my blog was going gangbusters.  I was posting everyday of the week and on Saturdays, had giveaways coming in faster than I could post them (remember CSN anyone?), had weekly requests for e-design services, and was on the brink of monetizing the blog with serious thoughts of quitting my day job and focusing on  giving interior design a try.  I was so happy and fulfilled to be part of a community with a group of creative people who validated my design ideas and supported my vision.  I felt satisfied, relevant, stretched, challenged, stimulated, full.

clareandlongley

{Picture of my oldest with her pacifier and fave stuffed animal from this post dated July 3, 2009}

And then life got in the way – we had trouble having our second child and I became really down.  And then I got pregnant with our second child and was cautiously and anxiously optimistic.  And then my husband was working an hour away and I was worn out.  And then my second pregnancy got complicated and I was scared to death.  And then we had our second baby and I was suddenly the mother of two – I was blissed out, elated and overjoyed, but utterly exhausted.  And then we moved from our second  “starter house” to our probably “forever home,” which is so exciting but is full of pressure to make smart design decisions that will stand the test of time and to move on from quick, cheap DIY solutions….  And the blog became much quieter with each change.

But I haven’t stopped scheming and dreaming and thinking of blog posts nearly every day that will resonate with my readers and my fellow design bloggers.  I really miss interacting with all of you and creating posts that stretch my design vision and focus my mind on the details of life.  Despite my absence, Pinterest and other blog rolls and websites have kept readers coming to this little corner of the internet.  One day last week, ~265 people clicked over here from Pinterest in one day.  Mostly to check out this post that I wrote on our DIY roller shades:

rollerblinds

and this post that I wrote on our DIY bathroom facelift:

bathroomfacelift

And a bunch of readers are referred to the blog daily from this post that Cathy Green wrote on our previous house:

furgphotowh

So, now here I am, over 4 years later with an almost 6 year old and an 18 month old.  My mornings are still full of practicing law, but my afternoons are full of swimming lessons, playgrounds, birthday parties, playdates, trips to the pool, laundry and  snacktime.   Some days I feel like the luckiest girl in the world, and other days I feel stretched so thin that I may just become invisible and disappear.

But for now, I would rather be present and living in my real world than posting daily (and likely half-heartedly for the moment) on the blog.  I am doing a lot of updates with posts on instagram (ada_marie) and Facebook.  And although I am “private” on insta, I will accept any normal-looking follower (not looking at you, creeper dressed in an orange Speedo from Hong Kong).  In fact, a lot of my favorite bloggers have almost stopped blogging altogether and have become “insta” sensations, leaving me to wonder if Instagram has replaced blogging?

photo-51

{Insta post showing the new paint in the hallway – Farrow & Ball Blackened – and the new paint in the dining room – Farrow & Ball Elephant’s Breath.}

photo-52

{Insta post showing the progress in the family room with my fave Home Depot $34 sunburst mirrors.}

photo-53

{Insta post of the **living!** hanging plants on the back patio.}

All this rambling began with a thought to post a simple reminder to move your Google Reader feeds somewhere else as of July 1st, when Google Reader will become defunct.  I just switched mine over to Bloglovin and it was much easier than I had anticipated – it moved all of my feeds for me.

I will still be posting here and I hope that my schedule and sanity will allow my posts to become more and more frequent.  If you are still reading, thank you!  Every comment posted here or on instagram or facebook motivates me to get back to regular posting.  Someday!  I did not intend for this post to become so personal and so long!  🙂

2 responses to “On Blogging and the Big Switch

  1. Love insta, and love this! And every time I read that I’m not the only one struggling to have #2 I feel a little more quieted. Thanks for sharing that – always helps to know we aren’t alone in our angst. Xx

  2. I am having the same issue! I keep thinking when did I have time to do all these blog posts and projects! I have a million ideas in my head and am too tired to post them! I really love blogging and wish I could make it happen more often. I am excited for the fall with Camille in kindergarten and Clyde in school 5 days a week. Maybe I will have more time…. 😉

Leave a Reply

