What’s Cookin’?

Life has de-railed my weekly menu planner series.  Between work, back-to-school, ballet classes, swimming lessons, weird food aversions, and evening fatigue, my family is lucky to get a home-cooked meal 2-3 times a week these days, instead of my goal of at least 5 days per week.  (We should be buying stock in Jason’s Deli, Chipotle and Panera….)  

But, I love that spark! readers enjoy the recipes and dinner inspiration.  So, these days, instead of full menu planners, I may just pop in here and let you know what my 2-3 pre-planned weekly meals will be.   Mini inspiration is better than no inspiration at all, right?  🙂

This week, I shopped for ingredients for 3 simple, pre-planned meals:

1. Cooking Light White Cheese and Sausage Bake.  I made this for dear friends who just had a baby girl and bought extra ingredients for a batch for us.  It’s simple and delicious and really only requires a few store-bought ingredients because you can substitute most any pasta for the ziti.  It looks kind of like this when it’s done:

{Image from Emily Bites}

2. Easiest Ever Crockpot BBQ Chicken from The Picky Apple on potato buns with cole slaw.  Ok, this is seriously the best recipe ever and only requires 1-2 pounds of chicken breasts and a bottle of BBQ sauce.  If I have it, I also add a thinly sliced sweet onion (Vidalia is best) first, then the (raw) chicken, then the sauce.  I also have found that I strongly prefer the thick, hickory BBQ sauce (generic brand tastes best for some reason!).  The Carolina-style sauce is too runny for this recipe.  When it’s done, just fork shred and let it sit in the crockpot until you are ready to eat.  You can start this as late as 1pm and still have it on the table for din-din.  So yummy and delish!

3. Cooking Light Quick Corn-Chicken Chowder.   Another easy recipe that requires only a few store-bought items.  I often use leftover rotisserie or grilled chicken, or even canned white meat chicken in this soup, so I just have to pick up a jalapeno pepper and a can of creamed corn at the store.  I usually have the rest of the ingredients on-hand.  This is a fall and winter fave around here!

Quick Chicken-Corn Chowder

I am hoping to be back later in the week with a post on updates around the house.  It’s been rainy and hard to snap any decent pictures, but things are a-changin’ around here.  I posted a recent development on the blog’s Facebook page last night — check it out and become a follower while you are there!

Happy cooking!

2 responses to “What’s Cookin’?

  1. Thanks so much for mentioning my Crockpot BBQ Chicken. That is seriously the easiest recipe ever, and I love that you can make lots and have leftovers. So yummy!

  2. The cheese and sausage bake was FANTASTIC! I was planning to ask for the recipe. Thanks so much for thinking of us!

Leave a Reply

