New Year’s Resolution Update

Eight months ago, I set out six design resolutions for myself in 2011.  One of many things on my to-do list was a facelift for our entry hall.  As a reminder, here is the BEFORE:

 

And now, still in progress and revealing my brand-spanking-new, shiny lucite console that arrived at my doorstep yesterday, is the ALMOST AFTER:

As you can see, I replaced the unsightly mustard yellow curtain at the end of the hallway with new French doors, changed out the runner and added the currently bare, but still beautiful-to-me, console.

Remember my first attempt at the console?  Although it was too deep and too tall and too clunky for the space, I still miss this glossy gal:

Here is a close-up of the French doors that my husband labored over after some serious nagging encouragement from me.  We ordered the doors from a local outfit that we love – Pleasant’s Hardware.  The doors came primed, but not painted, and they fit a little too perfectly — the doors were so snug that we couldn’t open and close them.  My husband pulled out some magic with a saw and sander and voila!  The knobs are temporary until I can find some that I really love.  We decided on frosted glass to hide this:

Which will likely be on the design resolution list for 2012!  🙂

I have four more months to:

  1. Style the console;
  2. Find a cheap the perfect piece of art for the long bare wall across from the laundry room; and
  3. Maybe paint the back of the front door an interesting color.

Think I can do it?  Stay tuned!

 

 

2 responses to “New Year’s Resolution Update

  1. ok, I love the french doors!! Also, I really like the lucite table, which I would never have thought of – it is very “clean” looking. I LOVE redecorating. (My problem has been that I like to buy a new house in order to redecorate, but no more.)

  2. love this! I just found your blog while googling around for the CB2 lucite tables. I’m in Richmond too 🙂

Leave a Reply

