My Design Resolutions

Happy New Year!  The start of 2011 feels liberating.  2010 was a great year, but it feels good to leave its baggage and the holiday stress behind me and
start fresh. 

I have been making a personal plan for the upcoming year and along with that, have been introspectfully examining my design goals and aspirations. 
Here we go:

  1. Get rid of everything that I don’t love without guilt, including gifts or family hand-me-downs.  This will always be a work-in-progress for me and I have closets full of gifts and hand-me-downs that I “don’t hate” but they never leave the closets.  Time to purge.
  2. Step out of my comfort zone and do not feel constrained by traditions and expectations.  Expectations and thoughts about re-sale value often water down and paralyze my design decisions, and the status quo remains longer than it should.
  3. Eradicate the mini-blind from all windows in the entire house!  You may want to avert your eyes….YIKES.
  4. Strike the right balance of investing in high-quality pieces while mixing with affordable, low-end accessories.  My favorite style combines classics and antiques with affordable basics.  I don’t want a house full of just antiques or full of just low-end “junk”, and with Target so close by, I tend towards the latter.
  5. Finally recover these chairs that flank our sideboard in the dining room. They were hand-me-downs that came with a furnished home purchased by my mother, and I like their shape, but the fabric is HIDEOUS!
  6. Finish my 3 ongoing projects!

I am nearing completion on Project Big Girl Room.  I need to style the dresser (now that the changing table is gone — woo hoo!), order some throw pillows, finish the wall art and maybe work on the closet-turned-secret room.

Upon a mention to my husband about wanting to re-do our downstairs bathroom, the next thing I knew, he had demo’d the whole thing.  Tile floors, vanity, mirror, toilet, light fixture — the whole sha-bang.  We are working on a yellow/gray/white bathroom update.  Here’s the current state — yikes again! (also, the yellow is much prettier in person and really not neon.  I had to use a headlamp to take this picture because the light fixture was gone!)

I have also kick-started the New Year by ordering the West Elm Zigzag Rug for my front hallway that I posted about here and here.  I will also likely order a new console and some fun accessories to spruce up the entryway to our house.  I want to get rid of the yellow curtain at the end of the hallway that currenlty serves as the door to our laundry room (we had to take off the door to fit our front-load washer/dryer when we moved in).   Here’s the before:

I would also love to hear more from my readers this year!  I know you are out there because I see you on my stat counter everyday. 
Please feel free to comment, ask questions and say hi! 
I love hearing from you! 🙂

 

7 responses to “My Design Resolutions

  1. Great list! I’ll be checking on you. I really need to go for #1 on your list as well. Better tell Mr. Spark to watch out. We are going to redo a bathroom this year and now that I know that you are doing the same I might be calling on you for advice!

  2. These are all great design resolutions Ada-Marie! I am SO with you on #1 and #4-both of those are on my list this year too.

  3. I hear you on the mini-blinds! Our house came with those crappy plastic builder-grade ones and we still have them in a few rooms, including our bedroom! Yuck!

  4. Ada I seriously need to commit to some design resolutions. There is so much I’d like to do, but get completely overwhelmed and freaked out by the financial implications. Your blog is a true inspiration and chock full of fabulous ideas. So thank you and Happy New Year!

  5. Love your list!! I’m posting my design resolutions tomorrow. Your hallway is going to look fantastic with your new West Elm rug!! I can’t wait to see it!

  6. I love this list. Your hallway is so pretty and will look great with that West Elm rug…

  7. Pingback: My Hallways — The Good and Not So Good | spark!

Leave a Reply

