In Case You Missed It….

With the hustle, bustle and rush-tle of Christmas upon us, you may have missed some of these great posts from my favorite blogstresses.  These are my picks from around the ‘net these days:

I loooooove what my friend Alyson over at Richmond Real Estate Mom did with her extra grocery bags.  I am totally stealing this idea — I love that it’s thrifty, green, and chic. 

Jackie at Sweetie Pie Style blogged about her 2011 Trend Forecasts, and she was spot-on.  I was going to do a post about my thoughts on the same topic, but decided that I may as well send you over there, because my post would have looked scarily similar.  I love her dot montage — dots are hot!

Speaking of 2011 trends, did you see that Pantone’s color of 2011 is Honeysuckle?  The selection seems kinda random and I am not sure that I am digging it (my girl Jeannine at Small & Chic in C-ville agrees).  Reminds me of: 1. a bad bridesmaid dress, 2. an overdone little girl’s room, 3. Pepto-Bismol, and 4. the Golden Girls.

Ok, maybe this will make me retract my previous opinion on Honeysuckle (check out the walls and trim below).  Anyway, I die for Tobi Fairley’s White Christmas Tree in her daughter’s playroom, and its all of its surroundings.  Serious design perfection.  

I loved Elements of Style’s post on winter boots, and her reference to Ugg wedges led me to these beauties.  Santa, I just added these to my list, okthanks.

For all the moms out there, this post over at the new Good Tots blog provided me with some inspiration yesterday afternoon.  We made a great batch of Christmas-y chocolate covered pretzel rods.  My three year old had a BALL decorating them with crushed candy canes and sprinkles.  They were so festive that we put them in tins with cookies for our neighbors!

I saw this awesome yarn ball & ornament wreath by The Dear Diary Stories via My Favorite Things and think it’s a great DIY for Christmas.

Stay sane out there, peeps.  We went to see Santa yesterday and got an eyeful of the stressed-out masses, especially the Type A moms who were equipped with lip gloss, hairspray and extra shoe options FOR THEIR FIVE YEAR OLDS’ picture with Santa.  Oh, and then the inevitable fight about taking the picture again because it wasn’t perfect enough the first time.  Most wonderful time of the year, indeed.  🙂 

3 responses to “In Case You Missed It….

  1. Great round up! Thanks for including me! 🙂 I just LOVE that yarn ball wreath – so gorgeous. And I feel the same on the new Pantone color, it’s okay, but definitely a little out of left field. Merry Christmas! 🙂

  2. The great thing about the yarn wreath is you could easily use up small balls of yarn you already have that would likely not ever get used. Only problem… w/cats and kids it’d be hard to make 🙂

  3. OK, I’ll weigh in with a vote for Honeysuckle. We ate at a Mexican restaurant in Cambridge a few months ago, and the ladies’ room was hot pink. I might not do it in my house, but I loved it in that setting – especially with all the funky Mexican mirrors and other decor! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

