Flatscreen Fix

So, I admit it.  I have a television displayed prominently in my bedroom.  {collective GASP!}  I am not ashamed to say that I love retiring to the bedroom, getting under my fluffy duvet and watching some television before going to sleep.  Or having little girl come join us in bed for cartoons on the weekend.  For a while now, I have been admiring images of how to “style” a flatscreen television.

Many months ago, I fell in love with this image over at Sarah’s Fab Day (original source: Style at Home)….

And the oh-so-talented Emily A. Clark recently created a gallery wall behind her family room flatscreen….

So, since doing my “custom” DIY rollerblinds (and admiring their awesomeness!), I have been looking directly at this blank wall:

I wanted to create some visual interest on the cheap.  I didn’t really want to purchase any new frames or wall art.  So, I decided to go into the storage closet and pull out all of my old picture frames that I really didn’t love anymore (love the pictures, hate the frames!).

Because there was no uniformity among the frames, I thought to pull out the pictures and the backing and spray paint the frames black to create uniformity.

But, once I saw the frames laid out though, I liked the visual interest that the different colors and textures provided, so I decided not to spray paint the frames.  The uniformity would be created by the wall color behind each frame.  I centered the dresser on the wall, got some little nails and started hanging.  And voila!

I really like the way it turned out, and I love that it was FREE and ZERO COMMITMENT!  I can easily take down the frames and do something else if I get tired of it.

What do you think?  Do you have the same problem?  Any other creative fixes out there?

P.S. Thank you for being patient with my CRAPTASTIC camera and iPhone pictures.  Hopefully Santa will get the hint and bring me a real camera at the end of December!

4 responses to “Flatscreen Fix

  1. You are so clever — I never would have thought of that. So now that they’re empty and on the wall, do you like the frames any better? 🙂

  2. It’s looks great! I’ve been meaning to do something behind the wall of my tv too.

  3. This looks amazing Ada-Marie! I just LOVE it! I am the same – HAVE to have a tv in the bedroom! 🙂

  4. Alyson Stoakley

    I love this! I too love to retire to my bed for some television at the end of the day. I have been staring at my flat screen and blank wall as well. Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

