Reader Question: Mirrored Tray Makeover

A sweet Spark! reader, Elizabeth, asked about the mirror hanging in my hallway:

and I am so glad that she did, because I forgot to share its story.

A few years back, I found the mirrored vanity tray (like the one below) at a local antique store for $5.  I see them all over the place, and they are usually under $10.

The one I found was really badly tarnished and it didn’t clean up very well.  The patina wasn’t gorgeous, but I hung it in a small space in my bedroom.

By the time the hallway makeover came along, I was tired of the little tarnished mirror and decided to paint it black and hang it on the gray walls to accent the ornate “filigree” pattern and give it a fresh look.

So, I taped along the edges of the mirror, covered the mirror with two layers of paper bag (newspaper will work too), and spray painted two coats of Krylon black on the front (let it dry) and then turned it over and sprayed two more coats of paint on the back (just the silver part, not the backing!).  It was too easy!

Also, mirrors are so easy to paint because if you make a mistake or don’t get the tape exactly right, and paint ends up on the mirror, you can just take paint thinner and a rag and clean it up.  No harm, no foul!  Just be sure to wear some latex gloves when dealing with paint thinner!

When I was browsing for images, I came across this similar mirror vanity tray makeover from Miss Mustard Seed (a really cool blog):

She found her vanity tray at a thrift store for $1.50.  I love the cream version above and think that a few of those pretties would make a lovely series hanging over a headboard or settee.

So, go check out your local antique store, flea market or thrift shop for a gorgeously inexpensive and easy DIY mirror makeover!  Thanks for the question, Elizabeth!

Have a question for me?  Drop me a line: needsparkblog@gmail.com.

P.S.  Don’t forget to enter the Traveling Savannah Giveaway!

4 responses to “Reader Question: Mirrored Tray Makeover

  1. Very cute! And, thanks for the paint thinner tip! I’m definitely going to need it!

  2. I didn’t even notice the mirror the first time you posted it… I have a mirrored tray as the center of my tray wall here: http://goodlifeforless.blogspot.com/2010/04/dining-room.html

    What a coincidence!

  3. Sarah-Nell Walsh

    I wish there was a like button on your blog 🙂

  4. Oh my goodness… what a great idea! I love an easy and inexpensive DIY project! Your hallway is so striking… I’ve had my eye on those exact same butterfly prints…. and those orange foo dogs are just awesome!
    -ME

Leave a Reply

