Ikat: It’s Not Just for the Curtains Anymore

We all know and love the look of ikat in our homes: curtains, rugs, bedding, throw pillows and blankets….  We can’t get enough!

{Completely swoon-worthy curtains, Eric Cohler via Cote de Texas}

Ikat is a dying pattern (similar to tie dye) that originated in southeast Asia, and it’s been popular in home design for a while.  But it’s now popping up in fashion all over the place:  

This dress would be great dressed up for work or dressed down for a summer party, I DIE!  {Carmen Marc Valvo, Saks Fifth Avenue, $340}

DVF wrap in ikat?  Yes please.  {Capela Dress, Diane von Furstenberg, Bloomingdales, $258.75}

A great choice for the office or Sunday morning (I think this dress would look better with a tan!) {Sheath Dress, Anne Klein, $148}

Great for summer date night!  {Print One Shoulder Dress, The Loft, $98}

I love this tunic by St. John paired with white jeans — looks fab (sorry for the small picture). {Ikat Tunic, St. John, $237}

I love this easy, sophisticated look.  I can seen a colorful tunic, white jeans and flops easily becoming my go-to summer uniform!  {Ikat Print Poncho, Gucci, Saks Fifth Avenue, $635}

{Ikat Strappy Wedges, Burberry, Bloomingdales, $495}

I love these two ikat bags by DVF — the orange one may be an early birthday gift to myself!

{Ikat Open Tote, Diane von Furstenbrg, Bloomingdales, $98}

{Nancy Ikat Shopper, Diane von Furstenberg, Neiman Marcus, $185 (sorry for the little image)}

This ikat scarf would look great with a jean skirt, tank top and flops!  It also comes in pink and black colorways.  {Ikat Diamond Print Scarf, Piperlime, $35}

Will you be wearing ikat this summer?  Keep your eyes peeled — ikat has arrived!

4 responses to “Ikat: It’s Not Just for the Curtains Anymore

  1. Love it all! I have some ikat in my wardrobe, but yet in my home decor. I need to find a place to incorporate it! Love those curtains and the tote!

  2. i love ikat for the home and i have recently tried on some ikat dresses, but i can’t stop thinking i look like a curtain or a sofa. the thin fabric and loose cut of the gucci tunic may be just right though.

  3. I’ve never been a fan, or really against it for that matter. It’s growing on me though.

  4. Hi, I am in love with the DVF tote and half been looking for it everywhere and this is the only website that has it. I was wondering if you know where it is being sold, or where I can buy it because it is sold out company wide and I have checked ebay and all that.
    Your help is greatly appreciated.
    Thank You,
    Katelyn

Leave a Reply

