My DIY Bedside Mirrors

Hi!  Sorry that I never said good-bye during my week-long hiatus.  I rushed out of the house, and never had the opportunity to “get on the grid” while on vacation.  Isn’t that the modern definition of a good vacay?  🙂

So, as a follow up to my Bedside Mirrors post and inspired by this post by the MoS gals, I share with you my attempt at bedside mirrors!  I am thrilled with the way they turned out.  Especially for $60!

I made a trip to a local antique store (Forest Hill Antiques in Richmond, Va.), and stumbled across these two mirrors:

{Stamped Syroco, tagged for $48}

{Tagged for $30}

Although they are different, these mirrors have the same look and were almost the exact same dimensions.  The finish was slightly different, but I knew that I wanted to paint them, so that didn’t matter to me.  I bought them both for $60.

I took them home and hung them in the space to make sure that they were the right scale for the room.

So, here is the master bedroom before the mirror installation:

{Ok, I moved the ugly alarm clocks, baby monitor(s), kleenex boxes, etc.,
but I just couldn’t move the Divine Miz Annie from the foot of the bed.}

Here is a shot of the mirrors, pre-paint:

I actually really loved the look of the gold mirrors in the bedroom, and almost kept them this way, but as I mentioned, the finishes were different and although no one would have noticed, it was bugging me.  But, I loved the way the mirrors reflected the light from the dormer windows across from the bed as you can see from the picture above.

So, Matt unscrewed the frames off of the mirrors for me and I went to town on the frames with three coats of white Rustoleum spray paint.  We let them dry and put them back together.

And voila:

I am really loving the symmetry, balance, depth and extra light that these mirrors provide.  What an awesome $60 upgrade!

What do you think?

P.S.  Special thanks to my sweet pup, Annie, for being a good sport during my photo shoot.  Isn’t she a cutie pie?

13 responses to “My DIY Bedside Mirrors

  1. Oh my gosh, that pup is beautiful!

  2. Welcome back Ada-Marie! Missed ya!

    I LOVE the look of the mirrors… job VERY well done! You are inspiring me!

  3. Hi Ada-Marie! I LOVE the mirrors….they are so awesome! It really looks wonderful and I love how they are both in different frames. It looks like you have a sloped ceiling – that is exactly how our bedroom is – a little difficult to decorate around – but you did a great job. I also noticed the dwell pillow! Fabulous job!

  4. Fabulous! Hopefully I’ll get to see them IRL this weekend. I need you to come and revamp my house. 🙂

  5. The white mirrors looks fabulous! I’m definitely going to keep this in mind as a re-do our master bedroom. I also love your white bedding! I’m planning something similar for our bedroom, too. Right now I’m still painting the walls.

  6. Those look amazing! I loooove them. I have a weakness for mirrors and frames like that. You did a great job!

    PS-I am dying to get a duvet cover with the pin tuck like yours!

  7. Love these! Nice job Ms. Spark.

  8. Very cool project, and I love your birdie pillows!

  9. Looks great!! Good job!

  10. The mirrors look fabulous! Great job. Thanks for your kind comments about my bedroom. By the way, I have 2 bichons myself. We must be kindred spirits – both like mirrors beside the bed and little white fluff balls!

  11. Mirrors behind bedside lamps, it’s the great old/new look of the moment. Growing up in Sweden people often put candles or lamps in front of mirrors to double the light and beat the darkness. Great bedroom and sweet little dog!

    e dog!

  12. The mirrors look great! I just may need to do this in my master. I can never get enough mirrors.

  13. Perfection! Love the placement and symmetry, and that you chose different shapes. Oh, and Annie is precious!

Leave a Reply

