A Modern Family Room

My sister lives in Atlanta and is beginning the process of revamping her family room.  She and her husband live in a really fabulous turn-of-the-century house in a quaint Atlanta neighborhood.  She has just hired a decorator to help her with the “heavy lifting” and she and I have been bantering ideas back and forth about the aesthetic of the room.

She is looking for a modern, comfortable, easy, clean vibe that can accomodate evenings with her toddler, as well as after-dinner drinks with friends.

Here are my quick thoughts:

For paint, they have chosen amazing gray by Sherwin Williams.  They saw that cool bird’s nest pendant (upper left corner) over the weekend (as found here from Lightology) and fell in love.  I also really like the industrial vibe of the iron lantern from Shades of Light (upper right corner). 

Because of the shape of the room, which is a large square, my sister and I agree that a sectional is going to be the best choice for seating.  I love the idea of a simple brown or black leather sectional.  The one pictured above in the middle is from Pottery Barn

To balance out the gray and brown, I chose a bright yellow, cheery rug from Anthropologie (pictured bottom left), and some fun yellow and gray pillows from Etsy (floral on left and damask on right above). 

To complement the modern light fixture, I chose some sleek stainless steel side and coffee tables from Crate and Barrel.

My sister made her own inspiration board and we exchanged them only to find out that we chose the exact same rug, except her choice was in the red color palate! 

What do you think?  I will keep you posted as things shape up down there in Hotlanta.  Good luck, sissy!

One response to “A Modern Family Room

  1. great selections! I love the sidetables, modern and classic in one!

Leave a Reply

