Design Crush: Paul Corrie

If you do not already know him, please allow me to introduce Paul Corrie, interior designer extraordinaire and my friend.

Paul is the founder of Paul Corrie Interiors and has received numerous accolades for his fabulous design.  He has been profiled by Home & Design magazine and was named one of Metropolitan Home’s favorite young designers.   His work also has been featured in the DC Design House, Washington Spaces magazine and HGTV’s “Small Space Big Style”.  Most recently, Paul was named asone of Traditional Home‘s top 20 young designers to watch! 

I am so lucky to know Paul personally!  He and I were good friends in high school.  (I was going to scan some old photos of us (circa 1993) but I will spare us all.)  Paul has always had a great eye for design and fashion — he was always dressed to the nines in high school!

I love the way Paul combines textures and design genres.  His aesthetic reflects his attention to scale and detail.  Paul always achieves a timeless yet fresh look.   

To help us get to know him better, I asked Paul to participate in a fun and quick Question & Answer.  I also blogged about Paul’s favorite things last year.  Isn’t he a good sport?!

1. Describe your style in five words or less.  Traditional with a modern twist.
2. What is your favorite paint color? Benjamin Moore’s French Canvas.
3. If you could design for anyone in the world, past or present, who would it be?  Great question…and difficult to answer! My Grandmother…She has always loved and taken pride in her home…Had I been able to do what I do now 20 years ago, I could’ve given her the dream interior of a lifetime.
4. What is one current trend that you think will be timeless?  Neutral palettes…You can always add to them to alter your surroundings.
5. What is your favorite piece of furniture?  I’m in love with these new dining chairs that I recently purchased…They’re Italian, circa 1930s, and they have the most gorgeous patina and finish…The paint has chipped off in some areas, which only makes them look even more fabulous!
6. What is your next travel desintation?  I would love to return to Greece…It’s one of my favorite destinations ever!
7. What color is your kitchen?  White, of course!
8. What is your drink of choice at Starbucks?  Grande Soy No Whipped Mocha.
9. Who are your interior design icons?  Albert Hadley, Jed Johnson, Miles Redd…those are just a few…I like to keep some just to myself…
10. What is your least favorite color?  Red.

See, now you have a new design crush too!  Pretty please go vote for Paul HERE in Traditional Home’s Readers Choice and you will be entered to receive a personalized room design from one of the 20 designers, plus Duralee fabric (up to a $5,000 retail value).  You can vote once a day through March 23rd. 

Be sure to add Paul’s blog to your reader and go peruse Paul’s gorgeous work!

{All images courtesy of Paul Corrie Interiors.}

One response to “Design Crush: Paul Corrie

  1. love the compilation of art in the second to last photo! great blog, too!

Leave a Reply

