“That Is Sooooo 2000.”

I was reading this fabulous post entitled “Trendy Elements That Scream 2000” over at Things That Inspire, and felt like adding my two cents to the discussion.  The post was inspired by an electronic forum on trends that will link decor back to the 2000s and cause a home to look dated in the future, as opposed to timeless.

Let me begin the discussion by agreeing with the author of the post and saying that I believe in decorating with what you love, so if some of these trends are “your thing,” please do not take offense!  If you read the original post, many people consider granite countertops, open floor plans and the chocolate and blue  color combination “out”.  I have all of the above in my house and happen to love them regardless!

So, here are my thoughts on the elements that will invite the comment, “That is soooo 2000s….”

1. Red Dining Rooms.

reddiningroom

We bought a house in 2003, and every home we saw had a red dining room.  I think this was a Pottery Barn-inspired trend and it has had its heyday.

2. Lots of Toile

toile

I really like toile in moderation but, in my opinion, the 2000s have seen a scary overuse of toile.  Look at this room above — toile upholstery, pillows, wallpaper and window panels, OH MY!

3. Sunburst Mirrors.

sunburst

I really like a beautiful sunburst mirror, but I think they have been really overused, and in the future, they are going to be immediately identified with the 2000s.

4. Tray Ceilings.

trayceiling

I think this double tray ceiling is vintage 2000s, especially with the painted tiers, recessed lighting and Tuscan style ceiling fan.

5. Extra-Long Window Panels/Pooled Drapes.

pooldrapes

Do you remember this trend?  It’s kind of waned in popularity recently.  I remember seeing the pooled drapes on the cover of Traditional Home a few years back.  I can honestly say that I have never been a fan of this look, mostly for practical reasons. such as dustball collection and more fabric equals more money!

6. Antlers and Zebra Rugs.

antlerszebra

Antlers and zebra rugs can add an interesting design aesthetic to a room, but I am over them!  The antlers were really fresh when they first appeared in Domino Magazine, but they now seem to be a staple in all design mags.  Honestly, I have never seen either antlers or zebra rugs in “real homes.” These items may still have their place in a hunting lodge, or in the home of an avid hunter, but not in the living room.

So, do you agree or disagree with my picks?  What are the trends that you strongly identify with the 2000s?

[Images from: 1. House to Home, 2. Thibaut Design, 3. Tobi Fairley, 4. Here, 5. Flickr, 6. Dallas Child]

7 responses to ““That Is Sooooo 2000.”

  1. Oh you are right, but I have several 😦 (sunburst mirror, tray ceiling, long drapes). Ah well…

    Also, wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a Kreativ Blogger award in one of my posts today!

  2. Our dining room in our old house was red, and I loved it! I was just thinking about what color to paint our current dining room. . . What colors do you like now??

  3. Re: #2. . you should see my friend/neighbor’s house. 2 of the bedrooms are toile- and the curtians blend right in with the wallpaper. I was secretly relieved for her when the prior owner kept the bedspreads for both rooms because it was as if one room threw up pink toile and the other blue toile. . .there can be too much of a good thing. . .but I am considering putting up the toile shower curtain in our shabby chic (i.e. only non-remodeled) bathroom in the house. . .but jury’s still out! Help Ada!!

  4. I agree with you, red dining rooms are out!

  5. I may be wrong on this, but I think Ghost chairs are starting to show up everywhere and will probably be dated soon…..

  6. Pingback: Fresh Dining Room Inspiration « spark!

  7. I disagree with double trays being “out”. We’re building our own home which is on the smaller side.. (1700 sq ft) and are utilizing a double tray in the great room to give us 12′ ceilings and allow the space to feel larger and more airy. In fact, I think it’s hilarious that you picked that photo as your example because that is the exact photo we showed our contractor 🙂 Double trays or any other tray/scissor truss/etc is great for making a smaller space feel larger and is why many people use them. The rest I do agree with for the most part… particularly red dining rooms and sunburst mirrors.

Leave a Reply

