Craving a Sleeping Porch and a Good Book

With Labor Day behind us and as the air turns more brisk with every passing day, I am wishing for a sleeping porch.  These ingenious outdoor spaces became popular at the turn of the century (pre-A/C!) and are most often located on an upper floor of a home.

sleeping1[Image from This Old House]

A more modern take on the sleeping porch from the exterior:

sleeping [Image from Angela in NC on Flickr]

I love sleeping porches with the weathered, white-washed “not too fussy” look.  Mmmmm, instant cure for insomnia!

sleeping2[Image from HGTV]

sleeping3[Image from House Beautiful]

sleeping4[Image from House Beautiful]

And I just love the idea of a hanging bed in a sleeping porch – how delicious!

sleeping5.jpg[Image from Apartment Therapy]

And here is a great minimalist sleeping porch, with just the bare essentials:

sleeping7[Image from skvidal on Flickr]

I wouldn’t mind catching some shut-eye in this 4 star, luxe, Phoebe Howard-designed sleeping porch:

sleeping6[Image from Phoebe Howard]

Now all I need is a comfy throw blanket great book!  May I recommend a few of my recent faves:

gruenWater for Elephants by Sara Gruen.

andrewsThe Fixer Upper by Mary Kay Andrews.

mcdougallBorn to Run by Christopher McDougall.

Any good recommendations for me?  Sweet dreams and happy Fall!

3 responses to “Craving a Sleeping Porch and a Good Book

  1. Patricia Kiessling

    I want those houses.

  2. Loved Water For Elephants!

    My most recent fave is The Last Lecture. I just read Bel Canto and it was pretty good. Hmmmm…. I’m not a big Jodi Piccoult fan but I really liked Plain Truth. And The Time Travelers Wife was excellent and now would be a great time to read it with the movie out. I’ll be thinking.

  3. I loved ‘Sarah’s Key’, ‘Bergdorf Blondes’, ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ and ‘Loving Frank’ check those out and see if they spark your fancy! Happy fall!

Leave a Reply

