A Toy Story

Hi there!  Sorry for the unexpected hiatus.  What beach rental these days does not have wifi?!  I got spotty reception while squatting on some other wireless network, but not enough to compose a coherent blog post.  Missed y’all!

Anyway, while on mini-vacay, I was pondering the storage of my recently-turned-two daughter’s new toy acquisitions.  You know, the beloved (but worse than kitschy) talking Elmo, garishly colored ride-on toys and neon stuffed animals?

Wouldn’t it be great if fun toys could double as aesthetically pleasing decor?

giggleuroll

Don’t you love this Giggle U Roll by giggle?  I don’t think that I would mind this stylish ride-on toy hanging around underfoot.  It almost looks like a modern side table, doesn’t it?

And I love this pared-down Tori Rocking Horse by Design Within Reach.  I know how great it looks in the living room because my sister gave it to my daughter for her birthday.  [Note to self: great gift for 18 month to 24 month olds!]

torirockinghorseI also really like the Rody, a hippity-hoppity ride-on toy, that I was introduced to at my fave kid-friendly coffee shop, Cartwheels and Coffee.  They come in all all sorts of fun colors, but I am partial to orange, of course.

rody

How cool would this retro, sleek Saab roadster from Unica Home look parallel parked in the family room (even after the wee ones outgrow it!)?

saabroadster

Y’all know my partiality to swings, porch and otherwise.  I love indoor swings and think they add a touch of “not-taking-myself-too-seriously” and whimsy to any space.

teakswingI would love to suspend this Teak Swing from Design Within Reach in my daughter’s play room or bedroom.  It would require some space (and perhaps increased homeowners insurance!), but would look so fresh and unique.

I have been admiring this Red Flowers Indoor/Outdoor Swing for a while. I found this in Acacia Catalog.  I would love to hang this in the corner of the playroom as a reading and relaxing nook.

redflowersswing

I am coveting this fabulous, mod and comfy Bubble Chair!  It would look great just about anywhere – family room, living room, bedroom, sunroom, you name it!  I love the clear acrylic for letting the light in, and the cozy, “curled up with a Dr. Seuss book” shape.  Any kid would LOVE this hanging nest.

bubblechair

I have mentioned these before, but I am still enjoying these indoor/outdoor swings from Penobscot Bay Porch Swings.  This is the Bar Harbor Swing and would be perfect for an indoor swing for kids.  I would love to add fun, colorful, complementary accent pillows, my daughter and a cup of hot chocolate!  It would look great hung in front of a windowed wall in a bedroom or playroom.

penobscot

A glimmer of hope exists that fun and whimsical kids’ toys can “play nice” with a chic, modern, and fresh home!

5 responses to “A Toy Story

  1. I love all the hanging furniture. Something is just more enjoyable about sitting down when you are suspended in air. I have no idea why. But it looks great too, so it’s definitely a win win situation.

  2. I am in love with that little Saab!!! If it wasn’t $500 I would buy it in a skinny minute!

  3. LOVE the SAAB – maybe you could put in a word with Carmax that they need to expand their inventory 🙂 I just coudn’t see paying full price for this car.

  4. For all of you who LOVE the Saab, there is a less expensive alternative on Design Within Reach that I’m going to buy for William. . .

    http://www.dwr.com/product/accessories/kids/metal-speedcar-racer-silver.do?sortby=ourPicks

  5. Hmmm. I hear you. Adequate and good-looking storage is a constant struggle over at my house with a two-year-old and four-year-old. Seems having boy and a girl spawns toys almost overnight. Currently, I use a lot of baskets, which works great for my kids to put away their things but it is all feeling too country for me. So stay w/baskets so as not to rock the boat or make myself happy and get something better looking??

Leave a Reply

