Vertical Volumes

vertical2

I have seen these terrific stacked bookcases popping up everywhere lately.  They are terrific for small, vertical spaces – like the usually wasted space between two closely spaced windows or doors or the corner of a cramped home office.  And with all of my backed up summer reading, I could certainly use some more storage!

Based on my new crush, you know I love this steel, orange powdercoated Array bookcase from CB2.  These mod shelves are all removable and the base only takes up a 14 inch square of floor space.

vertical1 Design Within Reach carries their Sapien Bookcase in two sizes, both on sale right now, shown below is the taller size, which can hold more than 70 books!

vertical3West Elm also carries a rich, wood version in green, white and dark brown – the Spine Bookcase:

vertical4

I also like West Elm‘s Spine Wall Shelf, which takes up NO floor space:

vertical5

Target carries a bargain version of the stacked bookshelves made of wood composite – the Talma Vertical Bookcase ($119):

vertical6

The vertical bookcase stores and displays books (and any other prized possession worthy of display) in a modern and an unexpected way, all while solving the ever-present small-space dilemmas.  When the bookshelves are full, the contents look like they are floating in mid-air.  Love it!

Now to tackle my summer reading – any good recommendations to help me fill my new bookshelf?

[First image from WebUrbanist]

2 responses to “Vertical Volumes

  1. Patricia Kiessling

    I just re-read Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince in preparation for the movie premiere on Wednesday!

    Loved the bookcases!

  2. Those bookcases are fabulous! I need more book shelves and this would be a great way for me to have more room. My books are all over the floor in my disaster of a bedroom and I am out of shelf space in the office and living room.

    If you like quick read mysteries, Charlaine Harris is great. She writes the Sookie Stackhouse books that True Blood is based on, but she writes several other series as well that I like, the Aurora Teagarden, Lily Bard, and Harper Connley series are all good ones. I can finish one of these in a few hours.

Leave a Reply

