Suspension of Belief

suspension

Simply. Breathtaking.

When I saw this image in the most recent Anthropologie catalog, my heart skipped a beat and I had to catch my breath.  I can’t take my eyes off of it!  The suspension chair is impeccably designed and so aesthetically interesting.  At the same time, the piece is inviting and looks comfortable and relaxing.  I love that its form is a fork in the road – part hammock, part bridge and part sail.  

Its natural setting would be in an outdoor space, like a dock, deck or porch, but this amazing piece of furniture would look terrific as an accent chair in a family room, home office or even a bedroom.  I love its versatility – it would perfectly compliment traditional, modern, contemporary, coastal and bohemian decor.

The chair’s design (and name) reminds me of architechturally spectacular suspension bridges in two of my favorite cities – Savannah (Talmadge Bridge) and Richmond (Varina-Enon Bridge).

The gorgeous Talmadge Bridge spans the Savannah River and connects Georgia with South Carolina: 

suspension2suspension3

suspension6

Similarly designed, the Varina-Enon Bridge crosses the James River east of Richmond, connecting the north and south banks.  

suspension5

If imitation is the greatest form of flattery, these bridges have received the highest honor!

 

Leave a Reply

