FIRST Favorite Things Friday – She Tells It Like It Is

Welcome to the first weekly installment of Favorite Things Friday.  The premise is to have people share whatever makes them happy.  I love the weekly Favorite Rooms Friday column by La Dolce Vita and the Friday Etsy Finds posts by Namesake Design.  Our first guest blogger is one of my BFFs, has exquisite taste, a gorgeous condo and is the wildly popular and snarky blogstress behind Telling It Like It Is:

These are a few of my favorite things…

So, much to my chagrin, NeedSpark inspires me daily to keep a neat and clean house and to redecorate.  I constantly want to redecorate. 

Which is silly.  Why, you ask?  Because my home, as far as anyone who sees it is concerned, is pretty chic-ly put together (yes, I’m speaking for them).  In the five years I’ve lived there, I’ve managed to create a warm, inviting, and, I’d like to think, appealing and self-defining living space.

Through the process, I’ve accumulated—through gifts or otherwise—a bevy of possessions.   Some are unique, some not so, but all hold a special place in my heart.  And hearth.

Let’s start with my monogrammed, gold colored, chenille Pottery Barn throw.  This is, quite possibly, a gift I use more than any other (from none other than Ms. NeedSpark herself).  My initials are monogrammed in a rich burgundy, which melds well with the gold of the blanket and even better with the red overtones of my living room (think big, red, comfy couch).  The blanket is practical yet indulgent; I love nothing more than changing into comfy clothes (PJs at 5:30?  Yes, please.), grabbing a bowl of stove-popped popcorn (with butter and parmesan), and wrapping myself up in the opulence that is this blanket.  I find myself covered with it whether the room is chilly or not.  It’s just that awesome. 

ronfave1

My next favorite thing (wow, I feel like Oprahbut with less money and fame…and weight, lbh) is my Princess cheese grater, which was also a gift. 

ronfave

My princess (to NeedSpark’s pleasure, I’m sure)  is wearing a yellow (or, if you will, gold) dress (which brings in the gold undertones of the adjoining living room.  Go.  Me.).   It is, obviously, for decorative purposes and I have never used it for its innate purpose of, well, shredding cheese (because who, really, shreds their own cheese anyway?  Just buy it shredded, people).  But the Princess does have a wonderful presence, standing watch daily on my rolling mini kitchen island.  Which also serves as the location of my third favorite thing…

ronyafave2

My red (see a pattern here?) KitchenAid stand mixer.  The ultimate wedding registry splurge…except, in my case, I bought it for myself because I just had to have it and didn’t want to wait for that potential spouse to show up on the scene before I could have it or officially wish for it.  The mixer sits regally (ha!  Like the Princess!).   I have a hard time putting it away, not because it’s unbelievably not light but, rather, because I really just love looking at it.  Don’t get me wrong, I use it.  A lot.  And it has absolutely gotten its money’s worth.  It’s useful and decorative at the same time.  The red shininess of it is a great accent to my black granite countertops and my caramel colored bamboo floors (I was green before green was cool).  I love it so much I even use Windex to shine up the bowl.  Don’t worry, only on the outside.  

And my last favorite thing—for now—is the artwork I have hanging in my kitchen.  We have already established that I use my mixer—and what I use it for, mainly, is baking.  Cakes, pies, cupcakes, brownies, cookies…you name it, I make it.  Bakerella I am not, but I do enjoy a sweet treat every now and then (more now than then, if I’m going to be honest).  I have, on the only wall that has no cabinets or appliances attached to it (but does have a horribly unattractive circuit breaker “closet” built into the wall that needed to be covered) a framed print by my favorite artist, Wayne Thiebaud.  The painting, called “Cakes,” is amazing and the perfect accoutrement for a baker at heart who also hates empty wall space.  The colors match my scheme perfectly and it is a cheerful and bright addition to my windowless kitchen. 

 ronfave6

A huge thank you to our guest blogger – I love your favorite things!  Stay tuned – next week, I will be posting about the challenge of selecting fierce carpet runners and we will have another fabulous favorite things guest blogger on Friday.  Thanks for reading!

3 responses to “FIRST Favorite Things Friday – She Tells It Like It Is

  1. we are great collaborators!

  2. Patricia Kiessling

    Who was your guest blogger?

  3. those are all things that make me think of you lala! (esp the cheese grater)

Leave a Reply

