Local Shout Out – Shades of Light

shades

While in Savannah, my husband scheduled an electrician to complete a few jobs around the house, including hanging three ceiling fans.  When I returned, I had two days to find three ceiling fans for three rooms in the house!  Finding (attractive) ceiling fans turned out to be a huge challenge.  I found the one for our family room at Lowes, but the fans for the two upstairs bedrooms (nursery and guest room) were much harder to find. 

The day the electricians were here, I went to a bunch of places in search of two white, clean, flush-mount ceiling fans, the last of which was Shades of Light (retail stores in Richmond and Va. Beach, but GREAT selection online too).  I didn’t even know if they sold ceiling fans, but I was desperate.  Karen, the Head Buyer immediately helped me, and we quickly identified and ordered two of these great Minka Aire fans from the warehouse, which I picked up the very next day:

shades2

Aren’t they FAB?  They look terrific in the bedrooms.  I love that they do not have chains and cords and bulbs sticking out cluttering up your view of the room.  They are almost invisible!

I am a serious lamp-aholic, so while at the immense showroom, I got a chance to browse their unbelievable selection.  I love these fun shades (pink and monogram) for a kid or teenager’s room:

 shades1shades3

 

This delicate lamp would also look terrific in a nursery, child’s room, or even a woman’s oversized closet (we can all dream, right?):

shades4

And get a load of this gorgeous Deco Glam Chandelier, which is dramatic in design, but understated in size.  Wouldn’t this look great hanging over a beautiful claw foot tub in a windowed alcove of a bathroom?  To die for!

shades7

And I realize that this is my second post about a Jonathan Adler product in as many days, but I could not resist this awesome ceiling light.  It is contemporary and retro at the same time.  Two or three of these lighting a long hallway would be perfect!

shades5

This modern cylindrical bathroom light reminds me of the lighting in the bathroom at the Avia Hotel in Savannah, which felt so fresh and luxurious.

shades6

avia13

Shades of Light also sells rugs, furniture, home decor accessories and, yes, my other obsession, mirrors.  I can’t help myself – look at this great mirror:

shades8

So, next time you are in the market for lighting, pop over to Shades of Light and see Karen, or browse their amazing selection online (www.shadesoflight.com) and check out their great blog.   They have gorgeous products and it is always nice to support local, small businesses!

3 responses to “Local Shout Out – Shades of Light

  1. Pingback: Featured on…spark! | Inspired Spaces

  2. Pingback: Ada-Marie’s Nursery & Guest Room | Inspired Spaces

  3. Pingback: Giveaway to Celebrate Spark!’s 100th Post « spark!

Leave a Reply

