One Room Challenge: Weeks 1 & 2

ORC

Howdy friends.  Thanks to the encouragement of my hard core fans on Facebook, I am jumping into the One Room Challenge Linking Party, Spring Edition.  I love that Linda from Calling It Home organizes this event.  It is a great way to get a room updated and hold you accountable over six short weeks.  I am a week late to the party, but I think I can catch up!

Ok, so last Fall I updated our master bedroom through the One Room Challenge and although I had a few more things to do at the end, I was crazy happy with the way the room shaped up in six short weeks.

DSC_0037

This time around, I am choosing to overhaul my toddler’s room.  She is a wild and carefree two year old.  When she was born, I loved doing her nursery in our old house — it was one of my favorite rooms in the house:

jroom7

jroom8

{Above photos by Beth Furgurson from Cathy Green Interiors blog}

In our new house, we haven’t focused on her room.  It’s comfortable and functional, but baby girl deserves a polished room!  :)  Here are the before iPhone pictures (toys picked up, but nothing styled for these pictures, this is what it looks like everyday):

Wall #1:

jroom5 jroom3

Wall #2

jroom

jroom9

Walls #3 & 4

jroom1 jroom2

jroom6

We inherited the wall color from the previous owners and we have liked it, but I would like something more serene for a toddler’s room.  Every bit of her room has been pieced together with items that we already had.  The rug used to be in our living room when we lived in Savannah (8 years ago!).

I am going to elaborate more on my plan for the room next week, but here is my paint inspiration picture:

jroom10

{photo source}

I would like to keep my budget to a minimum (as usual).  First up, Matt will be painting and I will be stenciling the walls.  Then, I would like to rearrange the furniture in the room and purchase at least a rug and window panels.

So what do you think?  Can I do it?  Eeeeek.  Stay tuned!

11 responses to “One Room Challenge: Weeks 1 & 2

  1. So happy your participating!! I’m in the midst of working on my two year old’s room too! I LOVE your inspiration photo. The great thing is you already have your white slipcovered chair and white furniture! And, I love how you have wooden floors in the bedroom – which will add some warmth!

  2. check out urbanwalls for decals so you don’t have to stencil all those dots! Love the plan!

  3. Good luck Ada-Marie! Can’t wait to see the finished room :)!

  4. You can do it! I love the room as is, but am sure you will do an excelent job at enhancing it. Good luck.

  5. Love the inspiration photo. Will be following along.

  6. Yes, love the idea of a more serene nursery, and wow, I admire your stenciling goals. I don’t have the patience. It’s gonna be pretty!!

  7. Pingback: Random Things I Am Liking Lately | spark!

  8. I love the plan and you did such an amazing job with her nursery, I’m sure this will be awesome as well! Good luck!

  9. Love the plan, and yes, you can do this! I like the idea of decals that Julia mentioned. Good luck.

  10. Can’t wait to see what you’re going to do… Love the polka dot inspiration! Your master bedroom makeover looks fabulous… That’s what I tackled this time around! Look forward to following along :)

Leave a Reply

