To DIY For: Painted Roller Shades

I picked up my mother-in-law’s copy of Southern Living over the weekend and my jaw dropped when I saw these awesome DIY roller shades:

They have a full tutorial for the stencil painted roller blinds in the March issue, and HERE is the online version.  It is really inexpensive and seems pretty easy!  I like roller blinds for windows where traditional panels or roman shades would block a lot of natural light, like a dormer window.  The roller shade can be pulled for privacy, but does not block any light when it is open.

The article provides a great source for re-usable stencils, Sunny’s Paints.  They have a fabulous selection! 

Check it out, you could make your own damask shade: 

{Damask Wall Stencil, $15}

Or you could make your own lattice shade — I would love to do this in my master bedroom with navy blue paint on white roller blinds:

{Kate Repeat Stencil, $30}

Stripes are fun too.  I love Domino’s take on the DIY painted roller blinds:

{Domino via Apartment Therapy}

{Domino via So Haute!}

There is so much to love about that room!  Designer Nick Olsen used high gloss black paint on white roller blinds to create this look.  I die!  This would pack a great punch in a vibrant color too, like orange or yellow.  Speaking of…. 

I am loving the simplicity and preppy feel of this striped, painted roller shade.

Of course, Martha’s got her take on the DIY roller shades too:

You can find instructions for her version HERE.

Are you convinced?  Maybe I will be your guinea pig and give this a whirl.  Stay tuned!

2 responses to “To DIY For: Painted Roller Shades

  1. Awesome post! I’m trying to convince my friend to do this for her nursery! I love it!

Leave a Reply

