Going Sideways: Horizontal Stripe Curtains

Ever since I laid eyes upon these awesome horizontally striped curtains made by the design diva Jenny at Little Green Notebook, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about where I can replicate the dramatic look.

After doing some investigation, I have realized how hard it is to find horizontally striped fabric.  Jenny took vertical striped fabric and sewed two pieces together to create the railroad stripes.  I love this look!

Also inspired by Jenny, the ever-resourceful Camila over at High-Heeled Foot in the Door actually spray painted bright yellow stripes on to a pair of white Ikea panels.  I love how this turned out!

Here are some other horizontal stripe curtain eye candy:

{House Beautiful via Mrs. Blandings}

{Fresh Ideas via DesignSpark}
(great post on a similar topic, love the blog name!)

{Covered in Curtains}

I love the tailored, but dramatic look of the horizontal striped curtains, don’t you?!

So, I am thinking about exploring these beauties further and maybe attempting to make some brown and white horizontal stripe panels for the two windows in my family room.  The picture below was taken last summer for another post.  What do you think?  Ambitious, no?

My only problem is that I can’t seem to find any brown and white, wide stripe fabric (even vertical stripes!).  All you design gurus out there, any source ideas?

9 responses to “Going Sideways: Horizontal Stripe Curtains

  1. Go for it!! I am not the person to ask for fabric though… I consider myself fabric-ly challenged. Can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  2. I think a chocolate/white stripe panel would look wonderful in your family room. I feel your pain on horizontal stripe fabric, though. Think you should consider the DIY version a la Camila – she made it look super-simple!
    Also, google “cabana stripe fabric” and see if anything comes up.

  3. Pingback: Look What I Found! « spark!

  4. You can also stitch your brown stripes on and it would look fab!!

  5. I have been looking for exactly the same panels for about a year! Thanks for the tips, I am going to try the spraypaint idea. We’ll see…

  6. Hey ladies! Ok, y’all are in luck if you’re still searching. I have an online shop where I make and sell horizontal striped draperies. We offer a LOT of colors to choose from. Mix and match any of them :)

    Visit us at marthaandash.com or marthaandash.etsy.com

    or straight to the 96″ length striped panel:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/67911483/96-pick-your-colors-striped-drapery

    xoxo,
    Ash :)

  7. If you haven’t found any yet, eBay has wide striped soft outdoor fabric in lots of colors

  8. Martha & Ash on Etsy will make you some reasonably!! I was obsessed too & had navy & white custom made!

  9. I don’t know if you found what you were looking for. I just made some using drop cloth and paint. They look amazing!! I found the idea on pinterest and love the end result. By painting them, you can make the stripes as wide/narrow as you’d like and customize the color. My first two friends who saw my curtains are already planning on using the idea.

Leave a Reply

